An Island Of My Own

Books are my weapon;
Poetry – my shield.
Music – my armor;
Reasoning – my field.
I need no ties of friendship.
Need not an act of love.
Secluded in my chamber
My world lives on untouched.
Desecrated, my self had been.
Living alone, an island of my own.
Never knowing what’s going on
With life, with love, forsworn.

About DCG

Poetry writing emerged in me as a channel to relieve my angst and aggression against life and express my emotions on subtle things. It became my diary for quite a while. Feel free to experience my thoughts. If you do require my feedback, please leave a note on my MESSAGE BOARD below. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Individuality. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Island Of My Own

  1. Judy Roney says:

    Wow! Great poem about how we can sheild ourselves from the world and what we miss out on.

  2. I live on an island, but not like this one. Great work!

  3. I liked this but it seemed to me very sad.

Leave a Reply

