Truthfulness

I came as subtle
As my conscience;
Quiet as the pitiless
Candor of stars
And its vast, decaying
Night. But all the while
I am searching for is
Truthfulness,
The lack of deception
That makes all things
Evolve.

Surely, you know
All these are as nothing
If truth was a lie
From that instant
I laid my eyes
On you.
Somehow, it came to be
The turning point
Of my life:
You passed on
Without even looking.

About DCG

Poetry writing emerged in me as a channel to relieve my angst and aggression against life and express my emotions on subtle things. It became my diary for quite a while. Feel free to experience my thoughts. If you do require my feedback, please leave a note on my MESSAGE BOARD below. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Unrequitted Love. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Truthfulness

  1. Mary says:

    Yes, truthfulness is very important. The ending is stunning: “You passed on without even looking” packs a punch. Thanks for linking to Poetry Pantry.

  2. becca112971 says:

    wow wonderfully done

  3. Abin says:

    the ending does pack a punch.embittered embers turned to cryptic lines of authentic wisdom here.if only we could resolve the drama of fair and foul…

  4. PhotoDiction says:

    I like the way this ended, how a moment missed could have changed one’s life.

  5. “the pitiless candor of stars” – what a glorious line…..sad closing lines. It often happens this way. You have written it so well. Nice to see you at the Pantry.

  6. Forgetfulone says:

    What a wonderful poem. Very well written.

  7. you have a really cool style DG.

    • Judy Roney says:

      I went searching for the truth of my life. I was paid off by realizing it was the good that was the lie. I try not to search so much. 🙂 Love what you did with this and think the ending is the most truthful.

  8. zongrik says:

    this is so sad. very well written.

    defining mama one

Leave a Reply

