The Common Vow

I have heard the common vow –
The repetitive words of the tongue
And the conceited mind.

Love, they say, and human devotion
Cradles the soul to a mindless
Sleep and uplifts the dream
Of warriors, knights and kings
To the hand of fair princesses.

Should love be fair,
I’ll be fair. But yet it corrodes
And cradles me to the grave.

True words are signs of a raucous
Remark: hurting, piercing, lurking.

Let that vow be a curse –
Love to the lover,
Hate to the victim.

I am the one you’re looking for.

I am the prey.

About DCG

Poetry writing emerged in me as a channel to relieve my angst and aggression against life and express my emotions on subtle things. It became my diary for quite a while. Feel free to experience my thoughts. If you do require my feedback, please leave a note on my MESSAGE BOARD below. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Unrequitted Love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Common Vow

  1. Mary says:

    Darkly well expressed; and the ending really is a stunner!

  2. Wowzers, well written. Yes, love can hurt. I, too, was stunned by the last line.

Leave a Reply

