Apology

I have called you
Pitiless as death;
Not refined
But coarse
As gravel.

I planted seeds
On to your rocks
Though impossibility
Of fruit-bearing
Looms.

Let me give in
To your hatred
As the wind does
To the waves
For I have wronged
Your constituents.

About DCG

Poetry writing emerged in me as a channel to relieve my angst and aggression against life and express my emotions on subtle things. It became my diary for quite a while. Feel free to experience my thoughts. If you do require my feedback, please leave a note on my MESSAGE BOARD below. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Forgiveness. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Apology

  1. Mary says:

    Dennis, I am wondering if there is forgiveness here. It does not sound as if either is ready. Am I incorrect in my assumption?

  2. kolembo says:

    Oh, lovely! Like Grit in the mouth. Great first stanza.

  3. Your opening stanza is very interesting…like death and gravel ~ It looks to me like it was an apology that is forced or pushed into one’s throat ~ Well penned ~

  4. TUG says:

    The Apology is true to form. It fits well with My Cup of Arrogance.

  5. I found this interesting to read, Dennis, with some great images. It does have a gritty texture which works well with the topic. I also really like the wind and waves allusion, and “I have wronged your constituents”. Pretty cool poem. It seems to be about what happens prior to forgiveness?? Made me think (always a good thing!)

  6. Laurie Kolp says:

    A wonderful apology!

  7. Sometimes forgiveness is an easy thing to ask for or grant; other times it’s just like swallowing a mouthful of gravel. Love the image you’ve created with this poem.

  8. margaretbednar says:

    Hmm. “Let me give in to your hatred”. I’m not sure I see forgiveness here … but perhaps it means you won’t fight with this person any more. You are done and walking away. Perhaps that is the beginning of a sort of forgiveness?

  9. brian miller says:

    nice language in this…and its got grit….and i def think they are both far from forgiveness….

  10. The second stanza is a powerful metaphor for futility. Sometimes people just don’t grow and learn from their mistakes, like planting seeds in rocks …

Leave a Reply

