I Miss The Morning

I miss the morning
When sunshine
Glances back
At 7AM,
Soothing for a walk
After a cup
Of coffee
To lift my senses.

The roads are dusty
And the heat
Is scorching.
No more sunshine
To soothe the bones
But to burn the skin
Of morning’s
Desperation.

About DCG

Poetry writing emerged in me as a channel to relieve my angst and aggression against life and express my emotions on subtle things. It became my diary for quite a while. Feel free to experience my thoughts. If you do require my feedback, please leave a note on my MESSAGE BOARD below. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Mornings. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Miss The Morning

  1. oldegg says:

    As long as the burning off process also rids you of the angst and aggression this might work!

  2. First hours of morning can be a peak hour panic or a limbo of getting the engine in gear – sometimes desperately! Beautiful!

  3. Mary says:

    It strikes me that there is a difference between the very early morning sun (which would be pleasant and warming) and the later morning sun which would be scorching. Desperation, be gone!

  4. This is a powerful piece, Dennis. You segued wonderfully from the welcome warming morning sun to the too-hot scorch that soon arrives.

  5. Living in West Texas, this tale is too familiar, beautiful sunlight mornings soon spoiled by the blistering heat of day. Just in the last week we have returned to cooler mornings, and I cherish the weekends when I can relax and go out to enjoy! This is the ideal way to start a day I think, I wish I could do so everyday!

  6. I loved this on so many levels–the rhythm of it–the unexpectedness of it–and the tone–great write

  7. Serena says:

    This poem makes me think of many things that in balance are soothing and comforting and then in excess bring pain and suffering. Well done.

  8. Very nice painting of the morning’s desperation ~

  9. Poet Laundry says:

    Your opening line pulled me right in. Great capture.

  10. amidemanila says:

    I love your line “when sunshine glances back at 7am” great imagery. This is a moment that one can enjoy even if it’s only in one’s mind…

  11. 4joy says:

    sounded so peaceful until the desperation…I really didn’t get that part…

Leave a Reply

