Wandering Spirit

I came not for food
But for urges of the stomach;

Nor the clothing,
But for skins to cover souls;

Not for shelter,
But for thresholds to separate fear;

Nor the love,
But seams to shield away scars.

The soul desires only a dream:
An existence that paves the road
Of a wandering spirit

Roving undisturbed
Through time, space
And millenniums.

About DCG

Poetry writing emerged in me as a channel to relieve my angst and aggression against life and express my emotions on subtle things. It became my diary for quite a while. Feel free to experience my thoughts. If you do require my feedback, please leave a note on my MESSAGE BOARD below. Thanks.
This entry was posted in Individuality. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wandering Spirit

  1. Serena says:

    What an interesting image… a wandering spirit….

    The soul desires only a dream:
    An existence that paves the road
    Of a wandering spirit

    I like how this poem made me feel… I like the idea of perhaps meeting a wandering spirit, having some kind of poetic encounter. I sometimes imagine such spirits wander through me at times when I’m writing while I try to stay true to their desire, rather than twist and interpret it as my own… lovely, lovely, moving and inspiring

  2. This is beautiful and mystical, my favorite of your poems. Really wonderful writing, Dennis. I, too, love the line “the soul desires only a dream” – yes, it is that dream that keeps us going…….lovely work.

  3. Poet Laundry says:

    I really like the sense of drifting as I read this…a sense of flowing through a myriad of experiences.

  4. Abin says:

    Like this roving spirit.the lines radiate with mystical gleaming.

  5. Jack says:

    Interesting, how fear will be given space to be separate, not a barrier, so it may be observed after all.

Leave a Reply

